My Mother often tells me that Fred and Steve, our Daschounds, radiate heat. Last night, Steve joined Yani, our coated Mexican hairless, in bed. It was better than a heated blanket. Thy both snuggled up to me under the cover, and it is nice not to sleep alone.

Up here in the U.S. it’s cold. You wouldn’t think that was record news, but because it’s wisespread, everyone on television has to freak out. As if they didn’t have heated homes, cars, and workplaces designed for comfort. Oh, what a terrible life they have!

Obviously, that is sarcasm. Who I really worry about are the homeless. In the city near me, they set ‘warm up shelters’ to help people not die from exposure. I have been praying for them.

I also worry about the people who cannot afford heat. They have homes, jobs, and an income, but they cannot afford heating oil. Out here, most people heat their homes with propane. With the high prices, it can be impossible. The difference between rural poor and urban poor is that way out here, nobody talks about it.

I think it’s time we do talk about it, because it’s nothing to be ashamed of.

Please, keep those cold people in your thoughts and prayers. If it’s cold where you are, stay warm, stay inside, and be careful of frostbite and hypothermia.

Thank you for reading! Have a lovely day!!

